Steamcon IV 2012 Airship Awards

Steamcon IV presented their annual Airship Awards on October 14th in a ceremony complete with a banquet, music and a presentation of the nominees and their works.


This year, nominations were submitted through the Steamcon website by anyone with an internet connection, and then the pre-registered attendees of Steamcon IV voted for their choice in each category.


The five categories, winners and other nominees for the 2012 Airship Awards, as already publicized via Steamcon twitter @Steamcon, are:


Written: Any written piece of work, including but not limited to: novels, short stories, blogs, screen plays, etc.

The winner is:

  • Ganymede – Cherie Priest

The other nominees were:

  • Frank Reade: Adventures in the Age of Invention – Paul Guinan & Anina Bennett
  • Tales of the Airship Neverland – John White
  • The Wrath of Fate – Robert Brown


Visual: Any visual piece of work, including but not limited to: 2D art, 3D art, digital art, fashion design, website design, making/modding, short film (by an individual)

The winner is:

  • Brian Kesinger (Tea Girls)

The other nominees were:

  • Ian Finch-Field – Skinz N Hydez
  • Laura Jones – Retroscope Fashion
  • Joey Marsocci – Dr. Grymm


Aural: Any aural piece of work, including but not limited to: Bands, songs, musicians, music videos, etc.

The winner is:

  • Marquis of Vaudeville

The other nominees were:

  • Frenchy and the Punk
  • Rasputina
  • Walter Sickert and the Army of Broken Toys


Community Contributor: An individual who is outspoken and supportive in the steampunk community, including but not limited to: Blogger, event organizer, convention runner, scholar, speaker etc.

The winner is:

  • Nick Bauman – League of S.T.E.A.M.

The other nominees were:

  • Steampunk Emma Goldman
  • Austin Sirkin
  • Doc Quincy E. Quartermain


Potpourri: Anything not yet covered, including but not limited to: Game design/designer, acting troupes, short film (by a group), movie, television, etc.

The winner is:

  • The Aether Brigade!

The other nominees were:

  • “The Mechanical Grave” – Director Jon Keyes
  • Anthony Pepe – Steampunk Frankenstein’s Makeup
  • Boston Metaphysical Society Webcomic  – By Madeleine Holly-Rosing , Art By Emily Hu


Congratulations to everyone!


Start thinking about your nominations for next year’s Steamcon Airship Awards!

Published in: on October 29, 2012 at 9:22 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: