Airship Ambassador Interview #100, Conclusion

aa-square300Welcome back for the conclusion, Part Ten of Interview #100. Here are answers to the seventh and last question.

Read Part One here. Current Involvement, Part one

Read Part Two here. Current Involvement, Part two

Read Part Three here. Opportunities, part one

Read Part Four here. Opportunities, part two

Read Part Five here. Changes, part one

Read Part Six here. Changes, part two

Read Part Seven here. Next in Steampunk

Read Part Eight here. Personally affected

Read Part Nine here. Items of Note

 

Anything else you’d like to share with our readers?

Lev-25-LBYR-300x200

Lev AC Rosen:  I have had three books come out since All Men of Genius: Depth, a noir science fiction that takes place in NYC after the ice caps have melted and it’s all tops of buildings, but written in a very classically noir style.  Woundabout: a children’s book illustrated by my brother in which a brother and sister come to a strange, mechanically driven town where nothing every changes.  This one is probably my most steampunk.  And just this September, my most recent book, The Memory Wall, was released.  It’s a younger YA/older MG book about a boy who’s mother has early-onset Alzheimer’s, which he’s determined to prove is a misdiagnosis by proving a character in his video game is actually his mother, playing online from the home she lives in.  It’s told alternately in the real world and in the high fantasy game world, which has some steampunk bits.

pip-tee-MIGeekScene

Tee Morris and Pip Ballantine: With the fifth and final season of Tales from the Archives launching soon and Operation: Endgame slated in 2017, it may sound like we are bidding farewell to the genre; but the truth is we enjoy it too much to step out. We’re launching a Y.A. series, and we are brainstorming ideas for another spinoff. So while the adventures of Books & Braun are drawing to a close, it doesn’t mean we are no longer writing steampunk. If people still enjoy our adventures into the Past That Never Was, rest assured—we will continue to write them.

1929c_Arthur_Slade

Arthur Slade: Just keep creating. And having fun.

Nova-Jha-1

Jaymee Goh: There is more to steampunk than the shiny. Whether in the literature or in the aesthetic, there is an underlying challenge to re-think the way we do technology and history, both separately and together.

Many of us doing steampunk also do other things which are fun and shiny, and I invite readers to check out the oeuvre of steampunk’s favourite artists beyond their steampunk work.

JCV-2

Jean-Christophe Valtat: I am currently rereading Kafka’s In the Penal Colony, and I was telling myself it’s excellent steampunk !

steamcon-2-kevin-nick-2

Nick Valentino: Thank you for including me in part of the 100th interview! I am truly honored. It has been so much fun!

blog-Evan

Evan Butterfield: Well, I think I’ve probably said enough. Of course I’d encourage them to visit ebutterfieldphotography.com, and to buy my photos and books and calendars, and share ideas for projects we could do together, but other than that–no, nothing.

Nova-Kevin-James-1

James Ng: This is a good opportunity for me to say thank you. Some readers might remember me from your early interviews, I think I was one of your first interviewees? I was just a student back then, but the interview drew me into this Steampunk community that supported me for my whole career. It was completely unexpected at that time, I only did these artwork as entertainment to myself, but the feedback from the Steampunk crowd taught me that there is value in my work and that my art is worth investing into. The support gave me courage to invest my money and time to push my project to the next level. I’ve started a company and have invested alot into a comic book based in my Chinese Steampunk world. Please look out for JamesNgArt’s Imperial Steam & Light on Kickstarter in the coming future. I can’t wait to share more!

gailcarriger

Gail Carriger: My latest book, Romancing the Inventor, is out November 1, 2016. It features a fan favorite character, Madame Lefoux, a brilliant lonely cross-dressing inventor, and the parlourmaid who falls in love with her. It’s relatively light on steampunk, but still there, and several other familiar faces also show up. However, you don’t have to have read any of my other books to enjoy this one. http://gailcarriger.com/books/romancing-the-inventor/

REPreston Author photo 1

Richard Preston: I urge them to support Airship Ambassador and participate in the steampunk community doors opened here. You helped me a lot when I was just getting started and you still do, and it is much appreciated.

Nova-Ay-Leen-Chang-1

Diana Pho: I think I covered all my bases 😉

 

Thanks to everyone who has participated:

Tee Morris and Pip Ballantine, read the first interview here.

Evan Butterfield, read the first interview here.

Gail Carriger, read the first interview here.

Jaymee Goh, read the first interview here.

James Ng, read the first interview here.

Mike Perschon, read the first interview here.

Diana Pho, read the first interview here.

Richard Preston, read the first interview here.

Lev AC Rosen, read the first interview here.

Arthur Slade, read the first interview here.

Nick Valentino, read the first interview here.

Jean-Christophe Valtat, read the first interview here.

 

Thanks for all of your support and encouragement!

Here’s looking forward to the next 100 interviews!

 

Published in: on December 30, 2016 at 7:16 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://airshipambassador.wordpress.com/2016/12/30/interview-100-part-ten/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment