Steampunk Hands Across The World – The People

By Madeleine Holly-Rosing

 

What is my favorite thing about steampunk? The people.

My introduction to the steampunk community was at a small convention called Gaslight Gathering in San Diego over three years ago. A lovely woman by the name of Anastasia Hunter took me under her wing and introduced me to this new-fangled world. She was gracious and supportive.

Anastasia Hunter

As I learned more about the community, I happened upon Kevin Steil (that’s you, big guy) and his website the Airship Ambassador. SteamCon was not far off and I decided to go, but I needed help in the clothing department. So I ran down to Clockwork Couture/Geeky Teas in Burbank where Donna Ricci’s expertise and enthusiasm made me look terrific.

Donna

That’s when I knew I had to attend Clockwork Alchemy in San Jose. It was there that I met the fabulous Thena MacArthur and the stalwart band of authors who included, but were not limited to, Sharon Cathcart, Anthony Francis, Elizabeth Watasin, Penelope Dreadfulle and Emi Thompson, who made a newbie feel right at home. And I cannot possibly forget the awesome Dr. Brassy Steamington who graced my panels.

dr brassy

And that was my first year on the convention circuit. It only got better the second year. And the third.

I can’t wait to see who I meet this year.

 

Madeleine Holly-Rosing is the writer/creator of the steampunk comic Boston Metaphysical Society, its companion anthology and the author of Kickstarter For the Independent Creator.


Follow along each day as new entries are added to the Official Link List and join the discussions on the Facebook event page.


Published in: on February 2, 2016 at 10:33 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://airshipambassador.wordpress.com/2016/02/02/hands-the-people/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Madeleine Holly-Rosing – Steampunk Hands Across The World – The People […]


Leave a comment